Rally Against Education Cuts

Over  50,000 students made the pilgrimage to Westminster to make their voices heard over their disapproval for the Coalition Government’s tuition fee increase to a maximum £9000 and university cuts of up to 40%. I’ve managed to capture the peaceful protest on film…well, before a few idiots overshadowed the protest by crashing and burning the Millband Tower. Mind you, once I saw flames and smoke slowly ascend into the air, me and friends fled Millband Tower. Good thing we did.

 

Even though I’m not going to university until next year, I still felt like it was my duty to participate. It was a great atmosphere and a great cause to support.

However, if there was one little problem I had all day was the fact I failed to bring a sign/ placard. Some great signs were on parade today such as “when I grow up, I wanna be a binman”, “Educasion. I wish I can spell if I had money for uni” and my favourite, “won’t someone please think of the children!?” If I had the chance to create a sign, it would say “Is this the line for Justin Bieber tickets :-/ ?”

 

‘Til next time,

Leave a comment

Filed under London Life, Student Life

Leave a Reply

