Being Bikeminded

You can follow my day to day cycling activities on my bike blog, beingbikeminded.tumblr.com

This is more or less a very brief update because I use my Brompton everyday since I got it. Cycling around RBKC whether visiting my friend or getting a random bout of fresh air, so apologies for the uninteresting nature. But anywho, after 2 weeks I’ve finally gotten used to that thin Brooks saddle on my green Brompton. My other folding bike, Murray, has a typical black foam saddle, so the transition from a seat with a normal surface area to a sleek but at-times uncomfortable leather one has been quite the challenge.

Saddle observations aside, my bike journeys around RBKC have become much, much quicker. The gears and the bike’s light weight make all the difference for me and can turn a 10 mile struggle around Notting Hill seem like one of my aimless Sunday strolls. What’s more, my folding movement has become almost second nature. It’s as if I was just making the bed after I wake up.

So I’ve got the bike. But there’s a little something that could limit my bike usage over the coming weeks. Tomorrow morning, I’m starting university which is all the way in North West London – a different and – I would like to stress this part – far world from south-west London. Will I attempt to cycle there? Let’s just say the bike has to contend with a Travelcard.

It’s going to be an interesting few weeks indeed….

***

For my previous entry, click here

Bikeminded is a 3 year cycling initiative that is raising awareness about the benefits of cycling and encourage more people to swap four wheels for two. Follow the hashtag, #bikeminded, to follow the campaign and other Bike Heroes.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Being Bikeminded

  1. Pingback: Being Bikeminded |

Leave a Reply

