Being Bikeminded

You can follow my day to day cycling activities on my bike blog, beingbikeminded.tumblr.com

_

OUT FOR A SPIN

Hello, hello and hello there and thanks for reading my Being Bikeminded despite the lack of posts. Just the one announcement before I recount my cycling tales: Being Bikeminded posts will be moved to a monthly feature until the end of my first academic year of uni. Quite annoyed since I enjoy the weekly posts but I guess I needed to sacrifice something so I can attempt to balance my life out.

So yes with that out of the way, there hasn’t been any change of destinations for me and my bike. However, the surroundings and atmosphere has changed. Portobello Road, King’s Road, Oxford Street, Fulham Broadway, Hyde Park: all these places have been given the Christmas makeover. Christmas trees, lights, ornaments have been scattered across the city whilst restaurants and stores have started to spin their Christmas playlists.

And now has never been a better time to get on your bike, bring out the camera and see the sights. With those nifty lights Bikeminded gave me, I too, looked like a glowing ornament that wouldn’t look out of place on a Christmas tree.

Also seeing the mix of traffic and festive lights, for example, while cycling make it seem like you’re in some psychedelic happy-land or travelling on the Millennium Falcon going into hyperspace.

Of course the one draw back about cycling at this time of year is that you carry more weight in order to keep yourself warm from the biting temperatures. Ok, so those biting temperatures haven’t arrived but when they do come, do make sure to get the correct gear which I’ll get to in a tick.

A word of advise: don’t actually taken any hallucinogens.

Stay safe, stay warm and keep cycling!

***

FEATURED PIC FROM BEINGBIKEMINDED.TUMBLR.COM

***

#CYCLINGONTWITTER

***

ON BIKEMINDED.ORG: DRESSING FOR THE COLD AND RAIN

Just because its been the mildest November since records began doesn’t mean the cold and rain (and snow!) won’t arriving to buffet and subdue us back into the tempting safety and warmth of our beds. When they do come, clothing will be an important factor: is it waterproof? Will it hinder my movement? Do I look like a hideous ogre in this raincoat? Bikeminded have kindly posted some tips that could potentially save your arse, look and feel graceful and keep you safe this season.

Want a tip from me?  FirstlyWear your pyjamas underneath*. My word…the warmth I feel. Secondly, keep all electronics in your bag, not in your pocket. My friend Robbin, who accompanied me on this year’s London Skyride, nearly broke his iPhone’s speakers.

Correction: I nearly broke his iPhone’s speakers.

Finally, don’t forget your lights. It’s against the law to cycle in the evening without any lights. Red lights at the back, white lights at the front.

*Not recommended for all. May not work if you want some freedom in the general leg and groin area.

***

Like always, you can follow all my cycling shenanigans on Tumblr, beingbikeminded.

***

For my previous entry, click here

Bikeminded is a 3 year cycling initiative that is raising awareness about the benefits of cycling and encourage more people to swap four wheels for two. Follow the hashtag, #bikeminded, to follow the campaign and other Bike Heroes.

_
_
_

Leave a comment

Filed under London Life

Leave a Reply

